The CWR Board of Directors held its first meeting of 2022 in Chicago and via videoconference on Wednesday, January 26 and Thursday, January 27. In the interest of keeping members informed, we present highlights from that meeting:

Veronica Brown and Deena Swank were appointed to fill Board seats open following the departure from the Board of Joanne Gallagher, CSJ, and Jane Strittmatter.

The Board reviewed CWR’s Conrad N. Hilton Foundation grant along with grant objectives to be achieved in 2022.

Finance Committee Co-Chair Tammy Townsend Denny provided an overview of the 2022 CWR budget.

CWR Executive Director Ginny Hizer informed the Board that CWR’s new member initiative offer will be shared with members of the International Union of Superiors General. Ginny also reported that CWR’s new Certificate Program Task Group, which is chaired by Deena Swank, will begin its work this month.

Board Chair Kim Westerman noted that the CWR conference planning guide will be updated and shared with the Board for approval at a later meeting.

CWR Ireland Chair Patricia Lenihan, RSC, outlined plans for the April 30 CWR Ireland conference.

Conference 2022 Committee Co-Chair Siobhan O’Neill Meluso provided an update on conference speakers. The majority of presenter slots have been confirmed for September’s gathering in Cincinnati.

Board members brainstormed and shared individual, committee, Board and organizational goals for 2022 before starting its strategic planning process for the year by conducting a SWOT analysis of CWR. The Board also discussed ways to be more effective and efficient by focusing on what is important and letting go of what is no longer a priority.

The Board next meets February 24 via videoconference.


CWR 2022 Board of Directors

Kim Westerman, Chair

Siobhan O’Neill Meluso, Vice Chair

Tammy Townsend Denny, Treasurer

Patricia Lenihan, RSC, Corporate Secretary

Veronica Brown

Dusty Krikau

Alison Lucci

Elena Miranda

Beth Murphy, OP

Stacy Spitler

Gina Sullivan

Deena Swank


CWR Staff

Ginny Hizer, Executive Director

Michelle Izguerra, Business Operations Manager

Brian Lavelle, Communication & Membership Manager