The 2023 CWR Board of Directors met for the first time on January 24 and January 25. The Board gathered for an in-person retreat in Glenview, Illinois. In the interest of keeping members informed, we present highlights from that meeting:

The January meeting was the first for Amanda Hackett, Caelie Haines, and Marie Stuart, RSM, as members of the Board. The trio of new members attended the final Board meetings of 2022 as guests. Prior to the meeting, Trudy Hamilton resigned from the Board.

Treasurer Tammy Townsend Denny provided an overview of the 2023 CWR Budget and the financial outlook beyond. Board members spent significant time discussing ways to ensure the financial sustainability of the organization.

The Board reviewed plans for fulfilling CWR’s current Conrad N. Hilton Foundation grant objectives in 2023 as well as the next steps to be taken in seeking potential further funding from the Hilton Foundation.

The Board established timelines for achieving the goals laid out in the new CWR strategic plan for 2023 through 2027. In addition, responsibility for the tasks necessary to reach those goals was divided among CWR committees.

Board members also updated 12-month plans for their respective committees, as well as setting committee goals for 2023.

The Board ratified a plan to extend a discounted CWR membership offer to former members of the North American Conference of Associates and Religious (NACAR) for a limited period. CWR is serving as a NACAR legacy partner following NACAR’s recent dissolution.

Marie Stuart, RSM, updated the Board on planning for the 2023 CWR Ireland Conference, which will be held April 22 in Dublin.

Conference 2024 Planning Committee Chair Caelie Haines reported on the impending launch of the committee along with committee member recruitment efforts.

Board Chair Kim Westerman outlined the agenda for the first meeting of the new CWR Advisory Council on February 1.

The Board will next meet on March 23 via videoconference.


CWR 2023 Board of Directors

Kim Westerman, Chair

Siobhan O’Neill Meluso, Vice Chair

Tammy Townsend Denny, Treasurer

Alison Lucci, Corporate Secretary

Amanda Hackett

Caelie Haines

Dusty Krikau

Stacy Spitler

Marie Stuart, RSM

Gina Sullivan


CWR Staff

Michelle Izguerra, Business Operations Manager

Brian Lavelle, Communication & Membership Manager