The CWR Board of Directors held its final meeting of 2023 on December 21. 2023 Board members were joined by incoming 2024 members Margaret Haik, Carrie Higginbotham, Mark Piper, Redmond Reilly, and Angela Szczawinska, CSFN, who attended the meeting as guests. In the interest of keeping members informed, we present highlights from that videoconference:

The meeting saw the Board vote to approve the 2024 CWR budget.

Chair Kim Westerman reported that a member task group had been formed to plan the celebration of CWR’s 30th Anniversary at October’s annual conference in Chicago. The group will be chaired by longtime member and former CWR coordinator Susan Oxley.

Director of Membership and Communication Brian Lavelle updated the Board on upcoming CWR virtual offerings, including a trio of January sessions: a new member mixer (January 10); a CWR Academy webinar on LCWR’s Transforming Grace initiative (January 17); and a Zoom panel and conversation looking ahead to Catholic Sisters Week (January 25). Brian also noted that updated Catholic Sisters Week digital toolkits created by the CWR Marketing Committee are now available on the Catholic Sisters Week website.

Dusty Krikau shared planning updates for the January Board meeting, which will be held January 30-31 at the Well Spirituality Center in La Grange Park, Illinois. That meeting will be Dusty’s first as Board Chair. She is joined on the Board’s 2024 executive team by: Vice Chair Angela Szczawinska, CSFN; Treasurer Mark Piper; Corporate Secretary Amanda Hackett; and Immediate Past Chair Kim Westerman.

The Board concluded its December meeting by offering its thanks and best wishes to outgoing members Tammy Townsend Denny and Alison Lucci.


CWR 2024 Board of Directors

Dusty Krikau, Chair

Angela Szczawinska, CSFN, Vice Chair

Mark Piper, Treasurer

Amanda Hackett, Corporate Secretary

Kim Westerman, Immediate Past Chair

Maureen Falcon

Margaret Haik

Carrie Higginbotham

Redmond Reilly

Stacy Spitler

Marie Stuart, RSM

Gina Sullivan


CWR Staff

Brian Lavelle, Director of Membership and Communication