Since 1849, the Franciscan Sisters of Perpetual Adoration have served in areas of greatest need. In its early years, that meant establishing health care and addressing education needs, ultimately leading to the creation of what are now Mayo Clinic Health System – Franciscan Healthcare and Viterbo University, both in La Crosse, Wisconsin, and St. Anthony Regional Hospital & Nursing Home in Carroll, Iowa—organizations that are firmly established and thriving through the day-to-day care of lay partners.

In order to remain true to its calling to address the evolving needs of humankind, FSPA announced it intends to transfer complete oversight of those organizations to lay leaders for each organization. This action removes FSPA from sponsorship of the ministries allowing it to more fully focus on people in the margins of society.

Read full text of news release