The CWR Board of Directors met via videoconference on Thursday, April 15. In the interest of keeping members informed, we present highlights from that meeting:

CWR Executive Director Ginny Hizer shared a reflection on 1 Thessalonians 1:2-3 during the opening prayer. Ginny also posed questions for further reflection:

  • How and why did you initially become involved in CWR and choose to become involved in the Board?
  • Why is CWR important to you?
  • How does your work – with CWR, with your congregation – reflect your love of the Lord?

The Board voted unanimously to appoint Siobhan O’Neill Meluso to fill the Board position vacated earlier this year by Cecilia Rupell. The May meeting will be Siobhan’s first as a member of the Board.

Board Vice Chair Kim Westerman shared plans for a vote on potential revisions to CWR’s bylaws at the May Board meeting. Any proposed changes approved by the Board would next be presented to the full CWR membership for an approval vote.

In her Executive Director’s report, Ginny Hizer detailed plans to visit – along with 2021 Conference Planning Committee Chair Kim Westerman – the 2021 conference site, the Guest House at Graceland in Memphis.

Treasurer Jean Merry noted that, while CWR’s annual audit is still ongoing, audit interviews of Board members and staff have been completed.

The Board approved a new overview document for CWR regional and resource groups presented by Tricia Buxton.

Education Committee Chair Rob Cogswell reported on the May 3 webinar CWR will host in collaboration with the International Union of Superiors General. The webinar will focus on successful collaboration between communicators and leadership and will be available in the English, French and Spanish.

Sr. Joanne Gallagher informed the Board that the Nominating Committee will host a Zoom Flash Conversation on Board service on May 18.

The Board next meets – again via video conference – on Thursday, May 13.


CWR 2021 Board of Directors

Jane Strittmatter, Chair

Kim Westerman, Vice Chair

Jean Merry, Treasurer

Tammy Townsend Denny, Corporate Secretary

Tricia Buxton

Robert Cogswell

Joanne Gallagher, CSJ

Spalding Hurst

Maxine Kollasch, IHM

Patricia Lenihan, RSC

Stéphanie Manseau

Siobhan O’Neill Meluso

Linda Romey, OSB


CWR Staff

Ginny Hizer, Executive Director

Michelle Izguerra, Business Operations Manager

Brian Lavelle, Communication & Membership Manager