The 2024 CWR Board of Directors met for the first time on January 30 and 31 at the La Grange Park Center in La Grange Park, Illinois. In the interest of keeping members informed, we present highlights from that meeting:

January’s gathering was the first official meeting for new Board members Margaret Haik, Carrie Higginbotham, Mark Piper, and Redmond Reilly. In addition, Sr. Angela Szczawinska, a former Chair, has returned to the Board after last serving in 2018. Those members did attend the final Board meetings of 2023 as observers.

After a review of administrative procedures, Corporate Secretary Amanda Hackett noted that Board members will be asked to make verbal committee reports at all meetings.

After Membership Committee Chairs Carrie Higginbotham and Gina Sullivan reviewed the 2023 CWR member satisfaction survey, the Board turned its attention to CWR’s future as Chair Dusty Krikau led a planning session for 2024 and beyond.

The Board next focused on committee planning for the coming year.

In her role as Education Committee Co-Chair, Amanda Hackett outlined preparations for the second cohort of the Strategic Communications Certificate presented by CWR Academy.

Marketing Committee Co-Chairs Margaret Haik and Stacy Spitler discussed long term plans for the Catholic Sisters Week initiative, including potential changes to Catholic Sisters Week digital platforms.

Sr. Marie Stuart noted that new officers have been selected for CWR Ireland and updated the Board on plans for changes to the group’s structure.

Conference 2024 Committee Chair Maureen Falcon reviewed a January 29 visit to the Renaissance Chicago Greenview Suites Hotel, the conference venue. Maureen was joined on that walkthrough by a group of Board and committee members and CWR Membership & Communication Director Brian Lavelle.

Carrie Higginbotham and Gina Sullivan detailed the Membership Committee’s plans for the 2024 Caelie Haines Memorial Conference Scholarship program.

The Board next meets on February 22 via videoconference.


CWR 2024 Board of Directors

Dusty Krikau, Chair

Angela Szczawinska, CSFN, Vice Chair

Mark Piper, Treasurer

Amanda Hackett, Corporate Secretary

Kim Westerman, Immediate Past Chair

Maureen Falcon

Margaret Haik

Carrie Higginbotham

Redmond Reilly

Stacy Spitler

Marie Stuart, RSM

Gina Sullivan


CWR Staff

Brian Lavelle, Director of Membership and Communication